Quick question

Pages: 1
Vapor
02/10/03 09:40 AM

Edit Reply Quote Quick Reply
I would love to start collecting minis, but I have a slight difficulty. I realise that most of them come in pieces that have to be put together, that isn't a problem. I can do that easily. However, as far as painting goes, I am sadly lacking in skill.

My difficulty lies in the fact that I demand a higher quality of myself than to just simply use unpainted minis, and I know that I will never be satisfied if I were to paint them myself. So, I'm wondering if anyone has ever painted minis for someone else? I've seen some painted minis, and they look incredible. If this is a possibility, let me know and maybe we can work out some kind of business deal.
"For those about to rock, we salute you." - AC DC

"The evil that can come, from the heart of a man, must be answered in kind 'till it disappears, and we're safe." - Kansas
Karagin
02/10/03 11:06 PM

I am not an expert on the painting so I stick to three base colors...a base OD green or forest green or a desert tan with brown or black stripes.

Some times I try some other base colors or go with like a gray or light brown as camo but normally I stick with simple and easy colors.

Bes thing to do is use a big brush to paint the primed mech and then use a small 00 or smaller to do the camo work and take your time as long as it looks good to you that is all that matters and once you have some that look good to you post the pics and folks will be very willing to help out on ideas such.
Karagin

Given time and plenty of paper, a philosopher can prove anything.
Vapor
02/11/03 03:22 AM

I used to put together model planes, and most of those, I painted. However, the paint job I managed to do was barely adequate. And those were just for display, and quite a bit larger than the minis. I'd like to have better paint jobs on minis that I would be actually using from time to time.